NEWS:

IF_30-31.10_all guests.jpg
Inspirational Forum , Saturday, 30 October, 2021
Ji.hlava International Documentary Film Festival, Cz

10:30–⁠11:30 AM
Community Garden
The inner world of Barbara Benish

In the garden we grow plants and relationships. It‘s where humans and nature team up. It brings benefit, joy and inspiration to people. What, on the other hand, can a garden bring to non-human living systems? The story of Barbara Benish's ten inspirations in a garden community with worms, leaves, water, mushrooms, nettles, brambles, potatoes, solar seeds, acorns and moss.

Guest: Barbara Benish

SunFlower still 4.jpg
441ebd5d-cfc2-117e-9478-ca7ae1373945.png

  in discussion: 9 June, 2021                                                           Trier, Germany

PRESENTED BY HOCHSCHULE TRIER

Earth, Water, and the Clothes we Wear: Environmental Installations

2021-2022 galerie PLUTO artist-in-residence Barbara Benish

Virtual Event
Wednesday, June 9, 2021
9:00 A.M. PDT  |  18:00 CEST  |  12:00 P.M. EDT
Webinar is in English
Barbara Benish in conversation with Berlin-based curator, Claudia Banz
Moderators: galerie PLUTO Associate, Prof. Jörg Obergfell with Prof. Theo Smeets 

IMG_1637_edited.jpg

"microplastics 1"                         oil on panel 
40 x 48 cm.
Galerie Pluto,          Rhine River Requiem 
July 2022                   

IMG_1590.jpg

Barbara Lucilla Benish is an artist, curator, writer and farmer, originally from California. Her art challenges and plays with the historical narratives that create dystopic environments, such as we find ourselves in today. Often community based, Benish's art engages beauty and form in a passionate embrace of the natural world. She lives and works in California and Central Europe. Benish is Founding Director of ArtMill in rural Bohemia, an international eco-art center. Her books include Form, Art, & the Environment (co-authored, 2018, Routledge), and the upcoming Art +Food+ Farming (co-authored w/Nathalie Blanc, 2022).